Cheesecake Brownies and You

IMG_0369

At my last job, whenever it was someone’s birthday, the boss would order a cake of their choosing. Well, depending on how fast a person was, it was actually a cake of the operations manager’s choosing. With the speed of a cheetah, I raced to put in an order for an Oreo Cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory. I did this for two reasons. First, this cheesecake is expensive and thus a very rare treat. Second, I knew cheesecake wasn’t popular around the office and I would end up taking home most of it.

I won’t lie, I’ve yet to be able to successfully duplicate that cheesecake recipe, but that’s not the point of the story. I’ve told you that story, to tell you this story. When I took that cheesecake home, I knew I had to exercise some self-control. As such, I put myself on a one-slice-a-day rule. Three days later, after finishing off my official daily slice, I went back to the refrigerator. Armed with nothing but a fork, I proceeded to consume more than my limit. I knew I should have practiced more self-control but as I was taking that extra bite, I remember thinking, “Forbidden cheesecake is the sweetest cheesecake.”

It is my sincere hope that this cheesecake brownie recipe turns into your late night forbidden cheesecake moment.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Box of Brownie Mix
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ t vanilla extract
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • ½ cup confectioners’ sugar

Instructions

Preheat even to 325°.

Normally, I’m not a fan of using ready-made stuff like brownie mix, but for the sake of time and convenience, just go with the brownie mix. Don’t cook it, though. Just follow the directions on the box but save at least a cup for the topping. Blend the egg, vanilla, cream cheese and sugar in a bowl. Make sure it is well blended; I once made the mistake of not blending and nearly ended up with a giant lump of cream cheese. Place all but a cup of the brownie mix into a pan. Once that is smoothed over and settled, add the cheesecake mixture. After that is smoothed over, simply place dollops of brownie mix on top and then trail a spoon through the dollops to give it a swirled effect.

Bake for 40 to 45 minutes and then let sit for an hour. On a side note, I froze one of these and topped it off with ice cream. It tasted like an ice cream sandwich. Just saying.

Thanks for reading and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

