Date Night Dinner

IMG_0104

Years ago I came across an article in GQ Magazine talking about what a real man’s kitchen should look like. Essentially, the article listed important items every man should have in their kitchen and because it’s GQ, the goal was more about impressing the ladies than functionality.  I am now utterly fascinated by this idea of a kitchen or a meal designed exclusively for chasing tail. Whenever I’m a guy friends, the first chance I get I’m investigating their fridge. That GQ article is the origin of this dinner, a meal thats simply in its construction and yet if I met a man who made this for me, I would be deeply impressed. In laments terms, a meal that can be used to impress the ladies.

Butter Garlic Noodles

What can I say, I love butter and noodles combined together in a pseudo-Italian recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 Box of Fettucini or Linguini
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 2 Tablespoon Butter
  • 4 Clovers of Garlic
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Dried Parsley
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese for Garnishment

Recipe 

IMG_0100Cook pasta according to the instructions on the box. In a skillet over medium heat, melt the butter, add the olive oil and brown the garlic. Add the parsley and let that cook for a few seconds. Toss the pasta in the mix and add salt and pepper to taste. On a side note, feel free to experiment with the proportions of the butter and olive oil. Depending of how much butter flavor you want, you might want to consider dropping the olive oil down to 1 Tablespoon and upping the butter to three.

Butter and Herb Broccoli

IMG_0099The key to an impressive meal is to either make things taste more complicated then they actually are or have a meal that smells amazing to make up for its bland look. We’re going with the former on this one because broccoli will never smell good when its cooked. I came up with this recipe when  I was trying to figure out how to incorporate more vegetables in to my diet. I found a recipe and thought, this is great. Nevertheless, a few minutes into preparing it, I realized I was too lazy to finish and just opted to use herb butter. (For those fellow classmates who are reading this, you can get herb butter for about $2 at the Market of Choice near the school. Don’t look at the prices of anything else or you face will melt like that one scene from Raiders of the Lost Ark.)

Ingredients 

  • At least 1lb of Broccoli, cut into workable pieces 
  • 2 Tablespoons of Water
  • 3 Tablespoon Herb Better – I used Kerrygold Irish Butter for this one

Instructions

Saute the broccoli in the water until all of it is bright green. Throw the butter in and sauté until everything if fairly coated.

Roasted Chicken

IMG_0103

I’m not doing any formal recipe for roasted chicken because making roasted chicken is really an overrated expereince. See this picture to the left? That’s my go to spice for chicken. Take whatever thawed chicken you have, season as you please, bake in the oven at 350 Degrees for about 30 minutes and call it a day.

Combine everything in the plate and serve.

On a final note, for those single fellas who are  cooking this to either impress a date or prove to your mother that you are an adult as she does your laundry, presentation is everything. Not so much the presentation of the food on the plate, but the arrangement of your kitchen. For example, before I learned to make brownies from scratch, I made it a point to either have the container of Hershey’s Cocoa visible or just subtly sprinkle cocoa around on the kitchen counter while a Betty Crocker brownie mix box hid safely underneath my bed. So if you ever use a shortcut ingrediant like the herb butter, hide it. In fact, if the spice isn’t something that you would see in a generic spice rack, don’t let anyone see it. If the person you’re trying to impress ask you how you made this meal, just say, “This is just some stuff  I threw together, I don’t even remember what I did.”

Leave a Reply

