Advanced Macaroni and Cheese

IMG_0057

Okay, I admit this blog is certainly being posted later than I intended it to be, but there is a good reason: I’m lazy. With that said, the pre-emble for this post is going to be on of the roughest. Nevertheless, this recipe is a favorite of mine

Last semester, I was attending a party in celebration of the completion of our very last final. While in a very advanced stage of tipsy, I came across a pot of macaroni and cheese, shells and white cheddar to be more precise. I take one bite and the first thing to come to mind was, “This is from a box… Be nice, you’re a guest.”

A few minute later, I’m joined at the pot by two other party goers who are also looking for something to snack on. After taking a few bites, one of the girls turns to me and says, “Hmm, this is great!”

It was all I could do to not show her the back of my hand. I admit it, I don’t like macaroni and cheese from a box. I don’t have a problem with it, especially when it comes to making something quick for the family, but ever since my mother made mac and cheese from scratch, the Kraft stuff just doesn’t cut it for me. For this blog, I’m going to show you a quick and easy version of homemade mac and cheese. Now, if I remember correctly, I actually found this recipe while snooping through an Italian cookbook. Because its an old recipe, I think the only thing I’ve changed is the proportions of the ingredients.

Ingredients

  • 1 Package of frozen Spinach – 12-16 ounces will do
  • At least 1/2lb of Fontina Cheese chopped or shredded – This will run you about $3 at local Springfield Trader Joe’s
  • 16 oz Ricotta Cheese
  • 5 Tablespoons Parmesan 
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Nutmeg – a little nutmeg can go along way so don’t be to greedy with it
  • A Dash of Salt and Pepper
  • 1 lb of Macaroni

Instructions

Heat the oven to 450°F.

Okay, I admit it, I didn’t use macaroni in this recipe, I used Penne. You actually don’t need macaroni, any non-stringy type of noodle will do. First, thaw out the spinach and drawn it of as much water as possible. Next, prepare the noodles as per instructions on the box. Keep in mind that the noodles are going to be cooked twice, so boil them until they are al dente (almost done). Once the noodles are complete and the spinach drained, mix everything, including the cheese and spices, together until it is evenly blended. Pour contents into baking pan and cook for 15 to 20 minutes.

If done correctly, your dish won’t look as brown as mine picture does. I accidentally burnt mine when I forgot to set the timer. Mea Culpa.

Thank you for reading and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

